Go to top of page

Winter School

The Winter school period means a period that starts on or after 1 June in a year and ends on or before 1 August of the same year.

A provider is able to offer a winter school unit on a fee-paying basis by determining that s36-10 of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 (HESA) applies to the unit. A provider can only do this if the unit starts in the Winter school period and each person undertaking the unit could undertake, or could have undertaken, the unit outside the Winter school period (including on a Commonwealth supported basis if eligible (HESA - s36-10(8)).

Refer HESA - s36-10 and Administrative Information for Providers (AIP): Student Support - s33.3

Table A providers only: Although domestic undergraduate fee paying places at Table A providers are being phased out, summer schools can remain fee paying.

This glossary item applies to the collection types:
  • Higher Education Student Collection